They say advertising is a very profitable business. True, many beginners can argue with this. Their advertising budgets are melting before our eyes, bumping into an incomprehensible indicator: CTR. It turns out that this is the most important factor that is included in the algorithm for calculating the cost per click. Let's try to figure out what CTR is in Yandex. Direct and how to make friends with it. The question, according to experts, is global. Understanding this factor will allow you to save a lot of money on an advertising campaign and earn more.
A few words about "Yandex. Direct"
The Internet is the most popular platform for advertising your product or service. There are many companies operating here, the essence of which is to organize the interaction of those who wish to notify themselves, and webmasters,i.e. people providing their own ad spaces.
The search engines have the greatest opportunities in this matter. These are enterprises engaged in the creation of specialized software. You run into them all the time when looking for information.
"Yandex. Direct" is one of the most popular advertising companies in the Russian-speaking Internet. It is organized on the basis of the enterprise that created the search engine of the same name. "Yandex. Direct" provides services to advertisers and site owners (webmasters). The former spend money to declare themselves, the latter receive a small part of them for providing their own sites.
The service that links them together naturally regulates the process. He needs to constantly maintain a balance between an ad and a click on it. Otherwise, both advertisers and webmasters will leave it. Yes, and visitors will consider that its services are of insufficient quality and will go to another search engine. The Internet is a highly competitive area. Now that you understand what topic is being discussed, you can move on to the heart of the matter. So, what is CTR in "Yandex. Direct"?
Rules
You need to understand that there are many people involved in advertising. They use the same key phrases, therefore, they compete with each other. And Yandex. Direct acts as a referee. The training organized by the company gives some information about this, but not enough.
The goal of "Yandex" isearning money. It creates rules that allow each advertiser to take as much as possible. For example, the cost per click in Yandex. Direct may vary for similar ads. The "referee" looks not at how much you agree to pay, but at the consumer's feedback. It is more important for him that people click on the ad.
If you understand this point, then it will be easier to find out what CTR is in Yandex. Direct and how it affects the budget. Again, a company doesn't care how much money you're willing to give it if the ads are clumsy or don't appeal to the public. She strives to get more from everyone, that is the meaning of her activities.
What is CTR in "Yandex. Direct"
The technical support describes this concept quite clearly. CTR (click through rate) is an indicator of the clickability of a banner or ad. The calculation formula includes two indicators: the number of clicks and impressions. CTR is the quotient between them. That is, to get it, you need to divide clicks by impressions. However, not everything is so simple.
Firstly, "Yandex" does not immediately calculate this indicator. When choosing ads, he initially focuses on the predicted CTR. And how "Yandex" receives this data - no one really understands. The same technical support explains that they are guided by the average performance of similar advertising campaigns, taking into account the site's karma (if any).
Real CTR starts to be calculated only after a certain number of impressions. For example, in 2016 there should have been noless than 400. The price of a click in Yandex. Direct directly depends on this indicator. The smaller it is, the more expensive the ad impression will be.
Logic for sorting ad units
Let's look at an example that demonstrates how CTR works. We have two advertisers. One is willing to pay 20 rubles. for each action of the client, the second feels sorry for such funds. He stated a price of 10 rubles.
Their advertising campaigns have worked for a while. As a result, Yandex saw that the first in a hundred impressions received 5 clicks. His CTR is 5%. The second advertiser performed their campaign much better. He received a CTR for the same hundred impressions - 15%. Well done!
And what did Yandex earn? From the first: 20x5=100r. From the second: 10x15 \u003d 150 rubles. Who is better for him? This is clear to anyone, because the ads were shown the same number of times. But from a more economical, but diligent advertiser, Yandex gets more. This means that he will not fool himself, he will give priority to this workaholic. And as a bonus - a lower CPC.
Does CTR affect the budget?
Advertisers are constantly trying to fit in with "Yandex. Direct". Training for those wishing to start their own business is being improved. To achieve results and not burn out, you need to be interested in new products, study someone else's experience. So, some time ago it turned out that Yandex reacts to the entire advertising campaign, and not to a single banner. He analyzes how scrupulously the specialistcollected keywords as they are used when creating ads.
In addition, "Yandex" collects information about each domain name. If it is unfavorable, then they talk about "site karma". It affects the search results, therefore, increases the cost per click. To find out specifically whether there is something negative about your site, you can only experimentally. You need to create two identical ads leading to different addresses. At the price offered by the service, you will understand which one has a better attitude.
How to increase CTR?
Experts have many opinions on this issue. Most of them tend to think that ads should be worked out. First, collect all possible keys. Yandex will definitely analyze their quality when it checks your campaign. The better the keywords, the lower the price. This experts have found out in practice.
Second place in the CTR increase goes to the ad itself. The key phrase should be in the title and text. You need to put it in quotes when you create a campaign. "Yandex" understands this sign as a desire to advertise by the exact occurrence of words. And this eliminates unnecessary, inappropriate impressions. Therefore, does not reduce CTR.
Stop words
There is a function in the service that allows you not to show ads for certain queries. They are called stop words. For example, you want to advertise fur coats. Naturally, all requests with this word must be calculated and adopted. When you collect key phrases,read them carefully. There will definitely be a “herring under a fur coat” and much more. Such requests, if not banned, will reduce our rate, increase the cost of the entire campaign. That is, when creating advertising, it is most important to work out key phrases.
Audience selection
Also an important point. "Yandex" focuses on key phrases. However, not everyone who writes requests has the money or ability to buy a product or order a service. This part of the audience should be cut off. For this, there is a location by age, geographical location. You do not need people from Magadan to watch an ad for the sale of flowers in Y alta, do you? They still will not spend a penny on them, these citizens do not have such an opportunity. Therefore, you should once again carefully look at who you offer your services to. Make a portrait of a potential buyer, and focus on him. Then "Yandex" will please you with a large CTR, and the campaign itself - with serious income. Good luck!